As 2023 fades into the background, a new set of state laws and regulations are set to go into effect beginning on January 1, 2024. These laws range from reproductive loss to poach pirating, as state legislatures pass new laws to deal with the problems of yesteryear.
Below are some significant new legislation that will go into effect this year.
Marijuana Use Protection
Beginning in 2024, California will make it illegal for an employer not to hire or terminate an employee for using cannabis products outside of work. However, an employer can still terminate an employee who is using marijuana while at work.
Covered Hearing Aids
In 2024, health insurers in Virginia will have to provide coverage for hearing aids for people 18 years or younger when recommended by a qualified physician. The coverage includes one hearing aid for each ear every 24 months, up to a cost of $1,500. The new law will apply to policies, contracts, and plans issued or renewed on or after Jan. 1, 2024.
Ohio will require social media platform owners develop procedures to verify that a minor age 16 or younger have their parent’s permission before they can use it. This law would encompass sites and apps like Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, TikTok and Snapchat. Recommend verification systems include a digital consent form, an online payment method, or calling a toll free number.
Along the same lines, several states have passed laws requiring companies that publish or distribute pornography to have an age verification system to ensure users are 18 year or older. These states include Arkansas, Montana, Mississippi, Utah, Virginia, Texas, and North Carolina.
Poach pirating refers to the practice of stealing packages from the front of a home, a form of mail theft made easier with the rise of Amazon and other internet companies. Starting in 2024, poach pirating will be a felony in Pennsylvania. The Keystone State joins eight other states where porch pirating is a felony. Alabama is also considering adding poach pirating to its list of felonies.
Reproductive Bereavement Leave
While some states are making stricter regulations for abortion and birth control, California and Delaware will require employers to give employees who experience reproductive loss time off. Private employers with five or more employees and all public employers must provide up to five days off for reproductive loss, including failed adoption, failed surrogacy, miscarriage, stillbirth, or unsuccessful assisted reproduction.
Do I Need to Contact a Lawyer About Changes in State Law?
Whether you need to contact a lawyer about changes in state law depends on the specific changes in the law and how they may affect you or your business.
If you have any concerns or questions about how the changes may impact you, it may be a good idea to consult with a lawyer who is knowledgeable about the laws in your state.
Only a lawyer can advise you on your rights and responsibilities and help you navigate the legal process. Use LegalMatch to find the right lawyer for your questions today.